My Cyclo Challenge

September 24, 2008

Hi guys. My name is Gary and I have started on a quest today. Actually it started a few days ago when I heard to announcement that Lance Armstrong was making a comeback to cycling. Like Lance, I never got very far away from the sport I loved. Unlike Lance, I never got close to reaching the level he attained and maintained for all those years despite he battle with cancer. Like Lance, I too was impacted by that terrible disease. Unlike Lance, mine was an indirect contact. I lost my mother to pancreatic cancer when she was just 68 years old. I have been angry ever since. I now know how to channel that anger and but it to use. I have chosen to come back to racing (never been very far away as I still train) and win the state championship road race, criterium and Time Trial series here in Hawaii.

    I have spent the past several years in and out of the sport. I have had coaches and have tried doing it by myself. Suffice it to say that I have been around the block several times and then some. I have had some success but it has been inconsistent. Some of this has been my doing and some is due to work and family commitments. Each year has brought a new challenge and created a new time sponge. Not that I dislike doing for my kids or the love of my life (Naomi, my wife), but I guess I have discovered that despite my having reached the age of 54, I have yet to completely grow up. I still like to race bicycles and pit my self against others. Age does not matter to me when I compete as I still see myself as I was all those years ago when I was in the shape of my life. I just don’t look too long in the mirror and the image does not shake me back to reality. Perhaps it is nothing more than the belief that athletics was the only thing that ever gave me a sense of self worth (the husband and father thing aside).

    At any rate, I have found a new guru who has given me the mental thrashing I have needed all these years. His name is Graeme Street and he is ever the voice of enthusiasm and just good ol’ “get up off your butt and do it” kind of motivation. Thinking back to my younger days, I always responded best to that kind of coaching. So Graeme, here it is. My goal, as stated above, is set and the wheels are literally in motion. Despite my kid’s school and sports commitments and all the other duties that go along with making and keeping a marriage alive, my goals are set on the road ahead. This is going to be good. The races that I have cited above are at least half a year away and I have time to work out the scheduling challenges that have always plagued me in the past. I feel like with your help and the new found motivation (the pent up anger and Lance’s comeback) I cannot lose. As the title of one of Lance’s books said, “It’s Not About The Bike”. It’s about taking up the challenge and seeing it through to the end. No matter what the outcome. Although I suspect that in Mr. Armstrong’s mind, the outcome was never in doubt. That is a powerful conviction that I intend to mimic.

    I believe that is all I have to say for now. Whether or not anyone ever reads these or any of the words that may follow, it make little difference to me. After all, this isfor me and not for anyone else. My aim is to put myself to the ultimate test. That is, set my sights on a goal and see it to its successful conclusion. No excuses and no whining. Just winning! Ready or not, here I come.

garyc

4 Responses to “My Cyclo Challenge”

  1. kate said

    Gary…what island are you on? Are you riding with a team?

    I’m on Oahu….

    Aloha,
    TiGirl

  2. Colleen said

    Awesome!! You’ve totally got me pumped up for you and me! I cant wait to read more about your journey back to the sport you love.

  3. Josh said

    where’d ya go Gary?! Such a great start, we want more!

  4. garcho said

    Thanks to all of you for your comments. I may not have been checking back with my own blog but I have been working on my comeback. Check new entry to my blog if you’ve a mind to. Thanks again for the words of support. garyc

Leave a Reply

