Been Around

November 21, 2008

This is my first post following the initial one. As usual, I have several brands in the fire and lose track of some on them. My blog being one but not my training. Imagine my surprise to find three replies to my introduction page. I read them all with satisfaction and thanks. The training is going as well as can be expected for this time of the year here. There has been considerable rain where I live and this drives me to stay indoors. I admire Lance and his acceptance of the wet stuff. I find it very annoying and a pain to clean up after a ride. My training has thus far then been mostly on the trainer. I get up at 4:30 in the morning to do my vitamin thing and then hit the trainer. I have lots of old taped footage from the OLN days of Tour coverage with Phil, Paul, Bobkee and unforunately Mr. Al Trauwig. Great motivation when you are half asleep. It really gets the blood flowing for the rest of the day though. A very nice side effect is that I now have more energy than the middle school students I teach. This bothers them to no end I think. One downfall I see in the near future as a result of my comeback is the added expense of all the new equipment I am going to need. My rig for criteriums will do very nicely, however I think I will need to do something about my road race set up. I am looking at the SRAM Red group. With the asking price, looking may be all I ever do. I will definitely have to do something about my TT rig. That is the one place where lots of time can be made up through the purchase of more event specific equipment. I am still a firm believer in the best trained athlete will win out over the best outfitted athlete. If you saw my current set up however you would understand my concern. Needless to say, I am in the midst of starting to look for a second job. Nice thing about being my age is I read that I should need less sleep than athletes at their prime. Naturally I will temper this thought with common sense and try not to burn the candle at both ends.  Currently in my training I am going through a body cleanse segment. I aim to drop 5-10 pounds of body fat through diet changes and specific training goals, take three days off for good behavior then hit the first block of conditioning. This block will last four weeks and concentrate mostly on core training and overall strength. There will be some on the bike training but mostly gym type stuff. The hard thing is not overtraining at this time of my off-season plan. Been there, done that in the past and failed, then wondered why. They say that wisdom comes with age. I have found that wisdom is actually your reward for listening over the course of your life. I know some others my age that still lack wisdom because they think they know it all already. It is the very things we think we know that prevent us from learning what we really should know. Anyway, enough of the philosophising and back to my plan. I am on a 12 week plan which will take me up to just before the season starts here in Hawaii. If the coming season goes as past editions, it will consist mainly of ITT’s and not much else. Just prior to that start I will begin a four week block of specific TT training so I imagine my early efforts will not be worthy of writing home about. Since there’s little else for the first couple of months, this fits my schedule just fine. By the time the mass start races begin I should be well into a build-peak-race training schedule. The timing will be a bit tricky to work out but no struggle, no gain eh. Besides, half the fun will be trying to time everything out to maximize my results. Fancy talk I know but what else do I have.

  That is my plan in a nutshell. Happy to report that so far so good. I am within 8 pounds of my high school weight of 172 lbs. I have built in at least one more weight loss week so between the training and correct diet, I should be good to go by early January. Guess that is all I have for now except to reiterate that I am doing this for me and for no one else. Pushing the ego aside for a moment though, I would like to say that if perchance I happen to inspire someone else to chase and possibly exceed a goal, the teacher in me would feel gratified regardless of the outcome of my own lofty expectations. Turning my ego back on, I have to say that I need to chase my goals with all the strength and tenacity I possess. One thing I can say for myself is that I have always been a competitor and likely will remain so throughout the rest of my life.

Adieu, garyc

2 Responses to “Been Around”

  1. kate said

    Hey Gary….

    Thanks for the reply on my blog. Would you believe that we ride for the same team? I haven’t been out in ages either, due to health related things, but reading your post is inspiring, and maybe it will help me push through all of this and start riding with passion once again.

    Do you mtb at all??

    Take care and aloha,
    Kate

  2. garcho said

    Hi Kate,
    Your story sounds strangely familiar. While I have been blessed with prety good health, it has been the usual work and kids related time constraints thing for me. Looking at the picture of you on top of Carson pass, it looked like the old TCT jersey but I was not sure. It does not surprise me to hear that we signed up for the same aquad. They are a prety big group. As I stated in my last comment, about all I have managed to do with TCT is pay my dues for the last couple of years and work the triathlon that our team staffed a few months back. Beyond that, my training has been spotty at best and that gives me lots to work on. As to your more recent question, I have a mtb but use it for commuting back and forth to work only. The fixed gear you were talking about in your last blog should be a challenge. I used to ride with a guy back in Cali that road nothing but his fixed gear for the first month of preseason training. We all thought he was crazy. Especially when he would bring it along on group rides. We stopped laughing when we would watch him spin so smooth and effortlessly on his road bike later in the season. I think he was ahead of his time. Anyway, I have started my training this past week. I am taking a very different approach this year after severing my contact with CTS and trying Graeme’s method of shortening my time in the saddle and upping the time on my core. Have just finished with his 7 Day Fat Loss BC and am now down close to my high school weight back when I was in shape. Looking forward to the coming season. Just got to maintain this through the Holidays (easier said than done). Hang in there Kate and I’m sure you will find that passion again. It’s not lost, just misplaced. At least that’s the way I choose to look at motivation level. Take care.
    garyc

Leave a Reply

